Tags

, , , ,

Every year March 10th is National Women and Girls HIV/AIDS Awareness Day (NWGHAAD). That’s coming up here in a month. To raise awareness The Red Pump Project has launched its campaign ‘Rock the Red Pump’ blogger campaign. Please note that I have added one of their badges to the side of this blog in support of their work. Check them out! http://www.theredpumpproject.org/

“Every 35 minutes, a woman tests positive for HIV in the United States.”

That is too many women. I have been working on a novel in which one of my characters is diagnosed with HIV and since beginning my work on the novel several years ago, I have become more aware of the devastating truth behind HIV stats in the world and in the U.S. I have also become attached to my character and don’t want her to die of AIDS related causes just as I don’t want women or anyone to. We must continue to raise awareness about HIV and AIDS!

I just read on Feministing.com that yesterday, February 7th was Black HIV/AIDS Awareness Day and I hadn’t seen anything else on it until now, which unfortunately, I think says something about how much importance is being given to it in the media. Feministing noted a great article from The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource Center-

What Really Fuels the HIV/AIDS Epidemic in Black America

Advocates who work with HIV and AIDS in African American communities give quick blurbs about their views on what worsens the epidemic. Among the 11 listed fuel items listed are: poverty, homophobia and especially interesting: Gender Inequality.

Check out this article and for the insight of each of these advocates.

“Every 35 minutes a woman tests positive for HIV in the United States.” HIV is still here. We need to stop it and to do that, we must raise awareness. Rock the Red Pump.

Grrl Code: Get tested for HIV. Encourage others to get tested for HIV. Learn the facts about HIV and AIDS and ways it can be contracted.

