Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Strong Women living their dreams! The two stars I’m thinking of could be musical icons.

A year ago, my uncle and I got into a conversation about what makes music iconic. We talked about different songs and musicians whose music seemed to live on forever, to some extent surpassing generational mood swings.  Mentioned were: The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Madonna, Michael Jackson, Cher, Patsy Cline. There are one hit wonders we can all think of by artists who fizzled out, but who is still remembered? The two big time pop stars I want to note today are awesome and I believe, cultural icons of this generation because their voices, music, creativity, and presence are powerful enough to identify this time and generation for years to come. They both have the top two selling songs of 2011 and they both are women.

Congratulations to Adele and Lady Gaga!

Both Adele and Lady Gaga hit the charts hard this year.  Adele has the year’s #1 single “Rolling In The Deep” and Lady Gaga has the #2 single “Born this Way.” I am captivated by both of these super-star singers! Their creativity, lyrics, and performance abilities are very engaging and impressive. Even if you don’t like their music, they are to be appreciated for being the hottest pop stars today and for being women!

Adele Laurie Blue Adkins known as Adele, is only 23 years old and from England. She has won awards in Britain and in the U.S. In 2009, she won grammies for Best New Artist and Best Female Pop Vocal Performance. Her album 21 is the year’s best-selling album, her video “Live at The Royal Albert Hall” is the #1 video and the number one single is “Rolling in the Deep.” She rocked all three charts!!

The passion in Adele’s songs comes through in her voice. And her lyrics are poetic and feisty:

There’s a fire starting in my heart
reaching a fevered pitch and it’s bringing me out the dark
Finally, I can see you crystal clear
Go ahead and sell me out and I’ll lay your ship bare
See how I’ll leave with every piece of you
Don’t underestimate the things that I will do

Adele is masterful at building up our strengths and pulling on our emotions. She’s saying she’s not to be messed with, she’s not to be taken advantage of. She is strong and will prove it.

Lady Gaga’s “Born This Way” is the # 2 song this year and super powerful.

By now everyone has probably heard the only Lady Gaga joke I know. I told it to a teenager last summer and she said the punchline before I could. Spoiler. If you haven’t heard it: How do you wake Lady Gaga Up in the Morning? Think on it. Think on it. Hmm… not sure? Poke her face. (For non-Lady Gaga fans: “Poker Face” is one of her big songs). Anyway,…

Lady Gaga’s real name is Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta and she’ll be 26 this March 2012. She was doing Rock-n-Roll burlesque for a while there and began performing in the rock music scene of the Lower East Side in NYC and has climbed the ladder of fame with her fans the “little monsters.”

She is a big advocate for the LGBT communities and the song, “Born This Way” is a full-on self-esteem raiser that promotes self-acceptance no matter who you are and regardless of your sexual orientation, race, or otherwise. It has been wildly popular and sold more than 3 million digital copies in the United States by this past October 2011, becoming her eighth consecutive single to sell more than two million copies.

Lady Gaga is brilliant about building her fan club. Her fashion sense is not sense, it is art. She has built her presentation as walking, moving, art and she is fabulous at it. Whether you like her music or not doesn’t matter; she is still great at what she does and she is a woman.

The song “Born This Way” is catchy and fun, but the lyrics are beautiful and bring openness and acceptance to a world that is often shutting people out. Here are some of the lyrics I find particularly important:

My mama told me when I was young
We are all born superstars
She rolled my hair and put my lipstick on
In the glass of her boudoir

“There’s nothing wrong with loving who you are”
She said, “‘Cause he made you perfect, babe”
“So hold your head up girl and you’ll go far,
Listen to me when I say”

[Chorus:]
I’m beautiful in my way
‘Cause God makes no mistakes
I’m on the right track, baby
I was born this way
Don’t hide yourself in regret
Just love yourself and you’re set
I’m on the right track, baby
I was born this way

We all, women especially, get so many messages that we aren’t okay how we are. This song says, whoever you are, love yourself. If you’re a woman, love yourself, if you’re gay, if you’re transgendered, whoever you are, love yourself.

I’m not just writing about these cool pop artists because they are women and have topped the charts, I’m writing about them because they are changing the world’s perception of women and they are changing the ways we all see each other in this world. Both of them have “fight” in them and their voices belt out messages of:

‘you can’t walk all over me’ and ‘love yourself as you are, we all can be amazing, we’re all superstars’

These women have a stage to send their messages from and they are using it to change the world.

So will they be iconic? We’ll see.

