Misissippi voted against the “personhood” ammendment. Hallelujah!

http://www.wmctv.com/story/15993171/voters-reject-mississippi

The extreme anti-choice advocates have been pushing what they call “personhood” as an abortion issue, but to me it’s about the rights of women.

The fact that Misissippians voted the ammendment down is an active step to keep women as people.

YAY MISISSIPPI!

Straight from the article I just linked:

Planned Parenthood Federation of America said in a statement: “Mississippi voters rejected the so-called `personhood’ amendment because they understood it is government gone too far, and would have allowed government to have control over personal decisions that should be left up to a woman, her family, her doctor and her faith, including keeping a woman with a life-threatening pregnancy from getting the care she needs, and criminalizing everything from abortion to common forms of birth control such as the pill and the IUD.”

They said this well! Women need to be able to make their own decisions. We usually consult with others, including: family members, doctors, friends, clergy or our faith, but we need to have the right to make our own decisions. The “personhood” amendment would allow the government to make decisions for women rather than us make them for ourselves on so many different levels.

As human beings, we make decisions for our dogs, our stuff, our children while they are young. We make these decisions because these entities are unable to make them for themselves. As a woman, I can and do make decisions for myself. In the past women were considered to be the property of men and had few rights. We don’t need to go back to those times. Let’s not forget our history.

Another point in history and of medical interest is that women have always sought out abortions and will continue to, but often they have not had access to safe ones and it ends up costing the life of the woman. I lived in Guadalajara, Mexico almost twenty years ago and I will never forget a young woman about my age died in a clinic there while getting an abortion, which was illegal. Women have used herbs and random unsafe home remedies to rid themselves of developing fetuses. When abortion is not a crime, it is a safe procedure that a woman can choose to get or not. Whether you are for abortion or not, it’s going to happen, whether legal or not. If it’s safe, women live rather than die with the fetuses they attempt to abort.

But, back to decision making. I feel like I’m a pretty good decision maker. I don’t make rash decisions, I weigh options and I do my homework: I research on the internet, I talk to trusted family members and friends- and then I make my own decision. This is my right and should be, especially when we are talking about something so personal as my body. I don’t want someone I don’t even know (or even someone I do) or some institution like the government saying what I can do and can’t do with my body. I’m sure the people in the “personhood” group don’t want me telling them what to do with theirs. I could mandate abortions. Of course, I wouldn’t, but isn’t that the same thing? We all need to be able to make our own decisions. I hate it when things come down to a bumper sticker, but that one that says, “Against abortion? Don’t have one” is right on.

As a continuation of the last post, another way to love women is to make sure we don’t lose the right to make our own decisions.

Grrl Code: Women need to be able to choose for our bodies. However you feel about abortion is irrelevant. This is about women keeping the decision to make choices for their bodies and what does and does not happen to them.

